AJ Architecture Awards shortlist revealed for Housing, Heritage, Refurb and Project under £500k

Stirling prize 2022-nominated practice Henley Halebrown has been shortlisted for its three new-build housing blocks on the Frampton Park Estate in Hackney in the Housing category. Also in the running are Archio, Coffey and Mae also make the shortlist.

In the Heritage category, Archer Humpryes has been shortlisted for a second time in these awards for its refurb and extension of Camden’s KOKO. The list also includes John McAslan for The Burrell Collection and Hugh Broughton’s recently completed Clifford’s Tower.

The AJ Retrofit of the Year, awarded earlier this year to Ian Chalk Architects for 16 Chart Street, features on the Refurb shortlist.

Meanwhile, the seven-strong list for Project under £500k includes a series of small home refurbs, a bridge, a few new-build houses and a bridge in Perthshire, Scotland.

In total, more 140 projects have been shortlisted across 19 categories for this year’s AJ Architecture Awards, the annual showcase of the very best built projects in the UK. The remaining shortlists will be revealed tomorrow.

The expert judges, who have started visiting every shortlisted scheme and will continue to do so over the summer, include Kirsten Lees of Grimshaw, Biba Dow of Dow Jones and engineer Webb Yates co-founder Steve Webb.

Also on the judging panel are Sumita Singha, Daisy Froud and former AJ architecture editor Laura Mark.

In addition to stand-out design, the judges will consider how each project has met or exceeded its brief, how it has promoted client or community engagement and how it has excelled in the use of space or sense of place. They will also analyse what sustainability measures have been put in place.

The winners will be announced at a gala event at the Hilton Metropole, London, on 23 November. Find more details and book here.

Housing Project

Unity Place by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Gort Scott and Alison Brooks Architects

Source:Paul Riddle

  • 200 Becontree Avenue by Archio
  • East Wick & Sweetwater Phase 1, Plot 5.5C by astudio
  • Warbank Crescent by Coffey Architects
  • Unity Place by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, Gort Scott and Alison Brooks Architects
  • Calvert Mews by Fletcher Crane Architects
  • Mary Ann Street by Glancy Nicholls Architects
  • Taylor, Chatto and Wilmott Courts, Frampton Park Estate, by Henley Halebrown
  • Ensign Court by Maccreanor Lavington
  • Agar Grove Phase 1b by Mae Architects
  • Greenwich Builds Batch 1a by shedkm
  • Chadwell Mews by Tasou Associates


Heritage Project

Sponsored by AG Paving & Building Products

Clifford’s Tower by Hugh Broughton Architects with Martin Ashley Architects

Source:Dirk Lindner

  • KOKO by Archer Humphryes Architects
  • British Academy of Film & Television Arts Headquarters by Benedetti Architects
  • First White Cloth Hall by Buttress Architects
  • Harcourt House by Darling Associates
  • Clifford’s Tower by Hugh Broughton Architects with Martin Ashley Architects
  • The Burrell Collection by John McAslan + Partners
  • Extension and reordering of Radley College Chapel by Purcell


Refurb Project

Park Hill Phase 2 by Mikhail Riches

Source:Tim Crocker

  • Welsh School of Architecture – WIDER-BE by BDP
  • Triangle House and the Tooth Factory by Child Graddon Lewis
  • India Buildings by Falconer Chester Hall
  • Productivity East by Fraser Brown MacKenna
  • 16 Chart Street by Ian Chalk Architects
  • Park Hill Phase 2 by Mikhail Riches
  • Henrietta House by MoreySmith
  • The Kensington Building by Pilbrow & Partners
  • Houlton School by van Heyningen & Haward


Project under £500,000

Brightbow Workspace by 3|10 Studio

  • Brightbow Workspace by 3|10 Studio
  • Twisted Barn by AMA/Andy Martin Architecture
  • Cabins in the City by David Blaikie Architects (Cabins in the City Limited)
  • Doune Castle – Ardoch Burn Crossing by Historic Environment Scotland
  • Dundonald Room by Jonathan Walker
  • Leybourne Road by Nelson Wright Architects
  • Ferrings by Williams Griffiths


The AJ Architecture Awards are supported by:

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *